Greek Chicken Avocado Meatballs

I’m not a huge meat-eater, but this is one recipe that I really like…especially because I don’t overcook them as much as I do when I cook a chicken breast. Plus, this has a healthy serving of vegetables and a kick of spice to liven things up.

PS I apologize for the picture, I forgot to take a good one of just the meatballs. But I will eventually share the recipes for Spaghetti Squash Breakfast Casserole and Coconut Curry that I made 🙂 when I meal prep, I don’t have to cook for days!

Picture1

I combined two recipes that I found on Pinterest – the Chicken Avocado burger from Laughing Spatula (http://laughingspatula.com/chicken-avocado-burger/) and the Greek Turkey Burger from BudgetBites (http://www.budgetbytes.com/2011/03/greek-turkey-burgers/). I made meatballs instead because I can’t handle a whole burger and added some Epicure spice to really get that Greek flavour. Feel free to make your own adaptation and let me know how it goes!

Greek Chicken Avocado Meatballs

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground chicken
  • 1 large ripe avocado
  • 1 chopped clove of garlic (or use a garlic-press)
  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/3 cup of ground almonds
  • 1 chopped jalapeno pepper (or less, depending on desired spice level)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons Epicure Greek Dressing Mix or El Greco Sauce Mix or Greek Seasoning (depending what you have on hand)
  • 2 tablespoons Epicure Red Garlic Sansel
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Mix all the ingredients above until well combined. Roll out 1″ balls onto a pan lined with parchment paper.*
  3. Bake for 20 minutes or until brown on the outside.
  4. Serve with marinara sauce over spaghetti or zucchini noodles.

*I have completely stopped using parchment paper and use the Epicure Bake & Roll instead…easy to keep clean, reuseable and completely non-stick. Probably one of my favourite Epicure items – https://epicure.com/en/products/cookware/time-savers/bake-and-roll

**I didn’t include sundried tomatoes in this recipe because I didn’t have any when I made them, but definitely can add about 1/2 cup of them to really add a nice flavour as well.

Author: ldrempel27

I`ve always loved spending time in the kitchen and after years of following recipes to the letter, I`ve learned how to improvise and play with flavours to come up with incredible recipes. I want to share this with other people and help promote clean, healthy eating through Epicure products.

Leave a Reply

